Oh, the Veganity! (+ pain + simplifying) {Day 2/30}

August 7, 2013 § 2 Comments

When I originally began planning for my 30 days of veganism, I felt like “it wouldn’t be that hard” and “this will be a breeze.” Instead of taking it slow and gradually climbing into the lifestyle, I took its welcoming hand tightly in mine and dove in. I decided to cut out all grain except oats, and become a raw foodist, at that. All-the-way, 110%, blinded-by-the-dazzling-light, off-with-her-head determination. I’m like that in pretty much every aspect of my life. There is no in-between. Everything is black and white. Finding balance is challenging.

I realize now, two days into my journey, that I need to slow down. Begin a bit more gradually. I wanted to cut out grains, become not just vegan, but a bona fide raw vegan. Go big or go home.

I was wrong. Sort of.

Well, let me be honest: I’m not ready for all of this, at the same time, quite yet.

I have decided to take a teeny step back. 100% raw is not yet my current goal. Eating an abundance of raw meals is. Cutting out all grains is a big, BIG step for me. I’m going to start out by limiting them to one serving a day.

I was feeling somewhat overwhelmed at first, but my revised plan has me excited again! I do love living a healthy lifestyle, I just have to practice some things I often don’t: planning, perseverance, and perspective.

On another note, I could use some advice: I twisted my knee almost a month ago. I stood up funny (great way to go out, huh? 😉 ) and I felt a major, twinge-y pain in the front of my knee. It was painful to stand up or walk down the stairs for a few days. I rested it (no exercise) for about a week and a half. Now that I’m getting back into my exercise routine (Cycling about 30-50mi/week and a teeny tiny bit of running) it is still achy. I’m not sure what kind of injury it is, so I don’t know how to treat it! I’ve iced it a few times, but I don’t know if it’s helped. Should I rest it again? Cut down on exercise? I’m clueless and very frustrated! 😛

My quest for a tidy, orderly abode is apparently just beginning. Isn’t it hilarious (not) how we suddenly form such emotional attachments to random inanimate objects when we start going through our junk? Everyone tells me not to throw away my drawings from when I first started drawing, but I feel suffocated by all of my old notebooks! I think I’ve found a solution to that one though. I’m going to keep a few drawings from each year, until they start to get good enough to appreciate! 😛

Anyways. I didn’t realize how much stuff I had until I began pulling out drawers and sorting through them. Oh, boy! This might be tougher than I thought… 😮

0773c5bb78796b46af3193c43fbb88e2

{HB}

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Oh, the Veganity! (+ pain + simplifying) {Day 2/30}

  • Rose says:

    Can’t wait to hear how the eating plan goes. I dream of being 100% raw and having a social circle that embaces it, but even the amount of fruit I eat raises my family’s eyebrows so it’s one small step at a time for me 🙂 Will be great to hear how your energy levels fare! X

  • You took the words right out of my mouth. 100% raw seems like a far-off dream, yet an attainable one! 🙂 A few friends expressed hard incredibly hard it would be for them to be free of grain products. I’m apt to agree with them, but it’s just because I’m so used to them in my SAD diet. Hopefully, that will change. Thanks for the kind comment!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh, the Veganity! (+ pain + simplifying) {Day 2/30} at All things lovely..

meta

