Life{style} Changes

August 1, 2013 § 2 Comments

As my sister and I were discussing health about a week ago, I told her how great I feel now that I’ve eliminated sugar from my diet. (18 days free as of today!) mimicking my friend, I started out just doing a 21-day sugar fast to detox and rid my system of the addiction it was. Honestly, the first few days were tough. All I could THINK about was sugar! Now, I don’t even want it. My next phase in this is to completely delete any and all processed grains as well, due to the poor nutrition of the off-the-shelf bread products, not to mention the fact that what carbs to straight to sugar during digestion. I like this “no sugar thing” so much, I’m continuing with this lifestyle indefinitely. Now, I’m not saying I’ll never have another thing that contains sugar in it; I’m just going to be much more selective! (Think raw honey, molasses, and dates as sweeteners.)

My sister decided she wanted to take a break from sugar after her birthday (the end of July), so she’s decided to join me for the month of August. *Whoo, Yay Sarah! :D* In addition, she told me she was also going to eliminate all meat and dairy from her diet for the month. Then she asked moi to join ses. I agreed, eager to encourage her in this temporary lifestyle change.

A bit surprisingly, though, I came to an odd conclusion.

I’m about 85% vegan already. Because I’m allergic to dairy products, milk, cheese, and all associates have already been eliminated. The only animal products I consume are limited amounts of meat (I’m not a huge fan most of the time) and occasional butter. Um… This might be easier than I thought.

Buutttt

since I like a good challenge

I decided to make it a bit more complicated.

For the month of August, I will be eating a raw vegan diet. That means at least 75% of the food I consume will be 100% raw. I’m weirdly super excited to try this out! 😛

A raw food diet includes:

  • all raw fruits and vegetables
  • nuts and seeds
  • sprouts
  • roots, root vegetables and squashes
  • fresh herbs and raw spices
  • seaweeds

In addition to these lifestyle changes, I’ve also decided to majorly simplify everything I own. If it doesn’t have a use and I can’t (or won’t) put it to one, I’m selling it, giving it away, or throwing it away. I have clothes I never wear, books I don’t read, and junk I don’t use. There’s no point in keeping it!

I hope these excited ramblings weren’t too boring… I just had to tell someone! 😉

July2013 072

{HB}

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Life{style} Changes

  • sylvanlove84 says:

    I love this post! It resonates very much with me too at the moment. Sugar detoxing… Getting rid of excess in my life and home. Yes yes yes. A simple life could very well be the key to a happier life.No one wants to turn their back on an addictive substance such as sugar! It’s like everyone is in a deep denial! Wonderful wisdom and strength is inspiring to read and hear from others! Ps: I’m almost done with my 3rd week of no sugar or starches. It’s nice to Hear of someone else doing the same!

    • This comment makes me happy! 🙂 Even though I’ve been free from sugar since the 15th of July,(Yay, 20 days!), I’m really just starting with the starches. I didn’t realize how dependent of them I am! Did you notice you were grouchier for a while without them, or did you have any other detoxing symptoms? I’m interested to hear your thoughts since you’re a little farther ahead in this than I!
      HB

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life{style} Changes at All things lovely..

meta

