My Christmas Wish List.

December 19, 2012 § 3 Comments

My mom has always said I can put anything on my Christmas and birthday list. Anything.

So I always have.

But-
there was a catch.
You can wish for anything, she said-

but don’t expect you’re going to get most of it.

You see, when you have six children, you can’t get every one of them everything they want. Even when your husband has an amazing job. Six animals, mountains of chocolate, and a backyard theme park just didn’t make the budget. (I’m still wondering why… ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

So we each made outlandish lists, some with over fifty items. (I won’t tell you who it was)Pets, bikes, clothes, a roller coaster or two, bb guns (Hey, this is the South!) and other trivial or expensive items topped the list.

Somehow just making the list was satisfaction enough- we didn’t just have to have everything on it anymore.

We always got many gifts, and we loved all of them. The one I remember most fondly was a purple Barbie Volkswagen bug that I don’t think I asked for. (It even came with stick-on flowers, and a key to open the trunk!) I had much fun with that toy, and even 8 years down the line, my youngest sister played with it. (Though by that time the key was long gone. So were the front seats…)

That memory serves to remind me that it is not the price of the gift, but the value to you that matters.

So even though this list has many items that I do not expect to receive, I can’t help but keep the tradtition my lovely mother started so many years ago. I have always loved making any kind of list.

Here is my Wish List, I thought it would be fun to share!

il_570xN_400496417_9dhr
1. Leather Rucksack

pDSP1-12167311p275w
2. The K2 bike– I actually got this one! ๐Ÿ˜€

nikonfm10
3. Nikon FM10.I also am looking at this Canon AE-1, and this Pentax K1000. (Any advice from film camera users is appreciated!)

pfi_69da2f3aefe1b2a91d6eaa9e931f19be

Or

pfi_a5dda65e240993620a4db79f45a32601

4. a Rhett and Link T-shirt! These two are my favorite.

23ef4ce39b219b99f62364b8da636c16
5. Keynote to Self Blazer.

PAMPAAAGOAMHGNLG
6. These amazing Steve Madden boots… *sigh*

6f2b29a49313ad075cca106fb3720ea8
7. Sweaters! Part of the reason I wish I lived somewhere cold… I love this one and this one, too!

73375aa9d1c4f7cc2f32f6f560ba613c

6eaaa20d880cac91b9d1468b5e622a90
8. Graphic Tees

Have you always made a Christmas or Birthday list? Did you expect to receive everything on it? What’s on your list this year?

HannahBeth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to My Christmas Wish List.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Christmas Wish List. at All things lovely..

meta

